Localities and Services
Job Alerts
Log in

Cumbria is the most north-western county in England, bordering onto Scotland. The stunning county consists of six districts including Allerdale, Barrow-in-Furness, Carlisle, Copeland, Eden and South Lakeland.


Cumbria is well-known for its outstanding natural beauty, where six national parks can be found, with The Lake Districts National Park being the largest park in English. Cumbria is famous for it’ll Lakes and Fells, where budding adventurist visit to explore the magnificent countryside. Water sports enthusiasts can head to bodies of water and lakes such as Windermere and Ullswater to take boat cruise, kayak and paddle board. Walkers can head into the hills to climb and follow Alfred Wainwright’s pictorial guides to the Lakeland Fells, including Scafell Pike, which is the largest mountain in England. There are also many amazing trails and paths for those who love to cycle or horse ride.

When you’re out and about see if you can spot a Herdwick sheep, they have smiley faces and are very friendly. They are very popular in the Lake Districts and Beatrice Potter even bred and showed them.

Towns and Villages

Cumbria has many beautiful, picturesque towns and villages splashed around the county. You’ll find popular towns such as Ambleside and Bowness-in-Windermere where the Beatrice Potter Museum is nearby. There are also smaller, quainter villages such as Grasmere, where you can taste their world-famous Grasmere gingerbread. 


Cumbria has numerous attractions and activities available, which is perfect for entertaining everyone! If you love history and heritage you can head to the town of Carlise to see the Roman and medieval buildings scattered around the city centre. You can also travel to Hadrian’s Wall, a roman built wall to mark the north-west frontier and repel invaders. 

South Lakes Safari Zoo is home to over 1000 of the rarest and most endangered animals making it a perfect day out for the family. Another fantastic family day out is Go Ape in the beautiful location of Grizedale Forest.

If you prefer architecture and buildings, you can visit some of Cumbria’s most impressive fortifications such as Carlise Castle, Lowther Castle & Gardens and Muncaster Castle.

Food and Drinks

If you find yourself peckish, you can find many places to eat and drink at. Cumbria has many country pubs and restaurants that cater to all. As a county, Cumbria has been awarded fifteen Michelin star, so those that like fine dining will not be disappointed. Cumbria is a great visit for foodies, where you can taste yummy Sticky Toffee pudding invented in Ullswater, or the world-famous Kendal Mint Cake. If you prefer a more savoury snack, why not try a Cumberland sausage!

Explore jobs

Search by city or postcode
Employment Type
Contract Type
Sort By
It looks like there are no results for this search. Click the button below to reset your filters.
Follow us